Go Back   Sports Handicapping Forum > Welcome Forums > Main Street


Main Street Gambling forums, online sportsbooks, players talk, sports talk, offshore betting, poker, off-topic, etc!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-18-2007, 09:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Anyone ever heard of a company...

called ytb.com (yourtravelbiz)? A friend of mine got me looking into this company. It's an up and coming online travel agency that does something other online companies don't. You pay a $500.00 to get your own website and $49.95 per month to maintain the site.

There are two ways to make money. First being that you refer people to your site to buy travel. You aren't a travel agent, but more of a marketing person. All you have to do it tell people about your site. You earn 60% commission on everything booked on your site including your own travel. So basically you pay 40% total cost for your own travel. The second way is to refer people to buy their own website. It sounds like a pyramid, but it's not.

The reason you haven't heard of them is because the only form of advertise they do it through RTA which are people who buy their own websites. This keeps the cost low for them and why they can pay people commission's.

I went to a conference last night with one of the CEO's and I think I might have found a niche.
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:08 PM
RiskReward
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Babylon
Posts: 19,963
Rewards: 2,438
thats called a pyramid scheme.

only this time they are using travell for the smoke and mirrors.

dont bother and thank me later.

google 2x2 and you will see simularities
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:10 PM
RiskReward
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Babylon
Posts: 19,963
Rewards: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by walk066
. It sounds like a pyramid, but it's not.
lmao.... dude just think about what you just said
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:12 PM
Cant Stop 85
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 3,765
Rewards: 164
yea its pyramid SCAM
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:19 PM
RiskReward
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Babylon
Posts: 19,963
Rewards: 2,438
Quote:
Originally Posted by walk066
A friend of mine .
also you might want to reconsider this unless the guy really doesnt know
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:25 PM
Hogan Knows Best
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 11,683
Rewards: 1,084
a buddy of mine is in this too, he's a smart guy, makes a couple hundred g's a year, but see's an opportunity. i think it's a scam, however, if you travel a lot it could be worth it even if you only get minimal sales from your site because you can use it to book your trips at very low rates and then right the expenses off as business expenses.

that said, it is pretty tough to make money with this thing unless you really market the shit out of it, you are after all competing with priceline, travelocity, etc.
__________________
2012 Totals (Began tracking on 4/1)


'12 NFL Leg Drops

Record:
Units:
5 Leg Drops:

'12 MLB Leg Drops

Record: 37-24
Units: +29
5 Leg Drops: 2-0 +10

NBA '12

Record: 9-5-1
Units: +11.9
5 Leg Drops: 1-0 +5

NHL '12

Record: 2-2
Units: -.7
5 Leg Drops:

NCAA Hoops '12

Record:
Units:
5 Leg Drops:

2012 Total Units: +40.2

2010 March Madness Tourney Champion!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:52 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Does a company who has been in business for over 6 years a scam? Don't you think people would have run the business to the ground if it was a scam. Would their stock keep rising if it was a scam?

My friend who already has a site, got his girlfriend to buy a hotel for a night and she called to confirm the reservation and they said yes she is booked for that night. So how is it a scam?

Also my friend who got me involved, his uncle owns many Nationwide insurance places in Florida and is a millionaire has done extensive research and is involved himself. He knows one of the guys who runs the company.

Explain to me how it's a scam?
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:57 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimmy K
a buddy of mine is in this too, he's a smart guy, makes a couple hundred g's a year, but see's an opportunity. i think it's a scam, however, if you travel a lot it could be worth it even if you only get minimal sales from your site because you can use it to book your trips at very low rates and then right the expenses off as business expenses.

that said, it is pretty tough to make money with this thing unless you really market the shit out of it, you are after all competing with priceline, travelocity, etc.
So your buddy is involved in this company? If he's that smart, then why do you think it's a scam?

I do travel often and it would benefit myself. I also know people who travel a lot and this could benefit me. I'm not looking to be a millionaire from it, but to get cheap travel and make a few bucks.

Traveling has increased over the internet and will continue to do so. Why should I not try to get a piece of the pie? It's not like I'm putting in millions.

About their stock. It started out a .01 4 years ago and now is at $4.25. You think it's worth buying?
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-18-2007, 10:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahred
also you might want to reconsider this unless the guy really doesnt know
This is somebody who is very brilliant and has resources like you won't believe.
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:13 PM
RiskReward
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Babylon
Posts: 19,963
Rewards: 2,438
..... ok bro... youve allready convinced your self its not when it clearly is.

2x2 was a publically traded co. which has been in bussiness for more then 6 years.

there are ways to make this bullsh!t legal.. and obviously they have.

Resources I wont believe my ass. If he is so resourcefull then let hiim get you a real job.

dude im just trying to help... 10000000000000000% a pyramid
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:18 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahred
..... ok bro... youve allready convinced your self its not when it clearly is.

2x2 was a publically traded co. which has been in bussiness for more then 6 years.

there are ways to make this bullsh!t legal.. and obviously they have.

Resources I wont believe my ass. If he is so resourcefull then let hiim get you a real job.

dude im just trying to help... 10000000000000000% a pyramid

Ok so say I don't do the pyramid side and just sell my website for travel. Is that a scam? I saw a check that his cousin got from the company and it's legit.

He actually did get me a job
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:18 PM
the straightshooter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: an onrushing tram, on collision course
Posts: 46,805
Rewards: 842
walk thougth u were sharp buddy
__________________
The only bridge I've ever burned along this legacy I dance is the one that linked the cities of prosperity and chance

Check out Technicapping for quantitative sport analysis
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:19 PM
RiskReward
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Babylon
Posts: 19,963
Rewards: 2,438
ok.... why the fuk would his cousin save a check for you to see.

dude your over this sh!t trust me...

how much travelling you do?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jahred
ok.... why the fuk would his cousin save a check for you to see.

dude your over this sh!t trust me...

how much travelling you do?
Cause I had my doubt if the cousin was receiving money. So I asked him to see a check.

I probably travel about 4 major trips a year and about 5 smaller trips a year.
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-18-2007, 11:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: delaware
Posts: 12,251
Rewards: 2,268
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romanowski
walk thougth u were sharp buddy
I haven't bought into it yet, but from what I;ve seen with my eyes, it's legit. I mean my friends girl booked a hotel and they have her reservation. How is that a scam?

I'm just looking for cheaper travel and to make a few bucks, thats it.

I looked up the Better Business Bureau and they have had 12 complaints in 3 years, is that high? 6 of the cases were closed, whats that mean?
__________________
USE YOUR MIND, NOT YOUR HEART!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.