View Single Post
Old 04-02-2019, 05:40 PM
New York Knight New York Knight is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NEW YORK
Posts: 99,238
Rewards: 49,015
Post Thanks / Like
Likes (Given):
Likes (Received):
Since 1985, 14 programs have made their Final Four debuts. Of those teams, only four were able to advance to the championship game.

In 2017, Gonzaga lost to North Carolina as a 1-point underdog in the final. The Tar Heels finished the title game on an 8-0 run, helping fans forget about the buzzer-beating loss to Villanova in the championship game the year before.

In 2010, Butler nearly pulled the upset over Duke in the championship game but Gordon Hayward’s half-court shot bounced off the rim as time expired. In 1999, UConn cut down the nets in its first trip to the Final Four. The Huskies beat a 37-1 Duke squad. Many call it a great upset, but UConn was actually favored in the title game.

In 1989, Seton Hall came out flat in its Final Four matchup with Duke, falling behind by 18 before eventually winning by 17 points. In the championship game, the Pirates had a lead against Michigan in overtime before a questionable foul with three seconds left sent Rumeal Robinson to the line — he made both shots to give the Wolverines the title.

To recap, first-time teams are 4-10 straight up in the Final Four and only one team, UConn in 1999, has won the championship in its first appearance since 1985.
Reply With Quote